Red Lodge, Montana

Festival of Nations annual meeting 2013

2014 Festival of Nations logo

Today, the Red Lodge Festival of Nations held both their public annual meeting and their monthly board meeting. Items on the agendas included:

  1. The Festival’s annual scholarship was renamed the Festival of Nations Bob Moran Memorial Scholarship, in honor of founding member Bob Moran, who was involved in the Festival for over 50 years.
  2. John McCampbell was officially recognized for donating the dance floor used at this year’s Festival event.
  3. The dates for the 2014 Festival of Nations will be August 1 and 2.
  4. The Festival will be sponsoring the Robert Burns Scottish celebration on January 25, 2014.
  5. The Festival will set up a tent at the Red Lodge Christmas Stroll on December 6 and 7 and provide s’mores. The Festival’s booth will be in front of Wells Fargo Bank.

Good news on financials

Treasurer Sam Hoffman reported on the Festival’s financial condition. Highlights of his report included:

  • The Festival event itself came in under budget.
  • There was a scholarship issued in 2013 and enough money raised for a $500 scholarship in 2014.
  • Even accounting for payment of back taxes from earlier years, preliminary results indicate that the Festival showed a profit of over $13,000 for the year
  • Total assets (cash and investments) currently stand at $179,252.43.
  • At this time last year, assets were $164,682.23, meaning the last year showed positive cashflow of $14,570.20.
  • The Board presented Hoffman with guidelines for a 2013-2014 budget, which he will present at the next board meeting.


At the annual meeting, it was also announced that three of the current board members’ terms are up: Annie Trichtinger, Sam Hoffman, and Tonya Kosorok. The Festival board consists of ethnic directors for each of the original ethnicities involved in creating the event over fifty years ago, plus a Montana director and several at-large directors. Annie Trichtinger, the Slavic director, chose not to run for re-election to her board seat. Nobody else was nominated, and that seat remains open. Sam Hoffman and Tonya Kosorok were re-nominated, with no other names proposed.

At the board meeting, Hoffman and Kosorok were elected. The next issue was selection of officers for the 2013-2014 year. The four officers from last year were nominated and unanimously elected:

  • Doug Bailey, President
  • Gary Robson, Vice President
  • Tonya Kosorok, Secretary
  • Sam Hoffman, Treasurer

Officers serve one-year terms, directors serve three-year terms.

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , , , , ,